Unhorcruxed!

I’d like to think so, at least.

After 6 days, a 24-hour bus ride, and 2 days of lying in bed, I’m back from my mountain DIY pilgrimage. As I wrote to a friend, my primary goal was to sort my shit out, but five days into the trip, I felt that I wasn’t really accomplishing anything substantial (at least, not to my liking).

But just when I felt I wasn’t getting anything done, I had an extremely moving experience. It was on our fifth day when, by some fateful chance, we made our way to a sacred waterfall, the Falls of Bomod-ok.

DSC_0231

Took this picture before I plunged in. Other beautiful pictures here (but not mine).

Usually the area is closed to tourists, but it opened a day before our departure. It was an hour trek down the valley, but it was all worth it. The moment I saw the waters, I felt a chill take me. As we got closer, I began to talk to it. Or him. Once I got my feet into the freezing water, even I was taken aback by the words of praise that wouldn’t stop pouring out of my mouth. I felt an urge to drink from the waters, so I did just that. Boy, did the Waters take me. I cried. I cried so much. It was as if the Spirit of the waters had touched me, lifted me up from my worries, and hugged me. I was laughing and crying, crying and laughing. It was truly divine. No wonder people still worship him!

Praises to the Grandfather of the Waters, Grandfather Bomod-ok, who unloosed my tears at last, mending my soul, healing me of my madness!

The next day, we met the sunrise, sang to the gracious gods and mighty spirits, and made offerings. I didn’t care if people were watching. It felt right to approach them again at that very hour at that very place.

DSC_0049DSC_0272

Soul unhorcruxed. Miasma cleared. Cultus can now recommence.

Obviously, I am overjoyed to say that I did, in fact, find what I needed to find in my 7-day DIY retreat. Cost me 10 days of unpaid leaves from work, but it was well worth it. I had my doubts if I could even do it, but it happened, anyway. I know, I still have a long way to go, but I think it’s a good start.

Salamat, Apo Bomod-ok! Salamat, mga Ginuo, mga Diwatang kasamba-samba! Salamat, mga Ninunong kapuri-puri!

Leave a Reply

