Another Silent Hekatombaiôn Done

So, I had another Silent Hekatombaiôn this year, though not for the same reasons. I just thought it would be nice to revisit the practice; it never hurts to get off of social media once in a while, especially if you intend to do more worthwhile activities. (I did not give up Reddit, though, as I consider the lists I follow as places for high learning.)

CrescentMoon_embroidery_design_b

Speaking of busy, the House have been rather engaged over the past few months as we had just recently established a regular schedule for sacrifices. Since my friend, the Indophile, and I have fixed days off at work, we decided to hold regular sacrifices every Sunday.

Some of these “sacred picnics” coincide with the festivals, so they serve a second purpose, too. In any case, if a festival falls on a weekday, the feast is to be held on the preceding or following Sunday, whichever is closer.

Here are some grainy pictures, complete with hashtags, thanks to my Instagram:

Belated #Thargêlia Greetings! Happy Birthday, Lêtô's twins!

#Thargêlia Greetings! Happy Birthday, Lêtô’s twins!

Do You Wanna Build a Pharmakos? #Thargêlia

Do You Wanna Build a Pharmakos? #Thargêlia

Cakes for the mammies bought by my Mammy #MothersDay

Cakes for the mammies bought by my Mammy #MothersDay

#Thargêlia and #MothersDay celebration under a mango tree. Hail Grandmammy Earth, Mammy of all things; Rhea-Durga, Mammy of the Gods; Hêra, Queen Mammy of Olympos; and shining Lêtô, Mammy of Mammyhood!

#Thargêlia and #MothersDay celebration under a mango tree. Hail Grandmammy Earth, Mammy of all things; Rhea-Durga, Mammy of the Gods; Hêra, Queen Mammy of Olympos; and shining Lêtô, Mammy of Mammyhood!

I know it should be the Baby Buddha, but Happy Wesak, anyway!

I know it should be the Baby Buddha, but Happy #Wesak, anyway!

Sundays on the farm, communing with the gods of nature and slacking

Sundays on the farm, communing with the gods of nature and slacking #randomSunday

Country bumpkins preparing the feasting grounds

Country bumpkins preparing the feasting grounds #randomSunday

Hermês loves a good bargain, especially if it's candy.

Hermês loves a good bargain, especially if it’s candy. #randomHermaia

Hanggang sa muli, Poong Magdalena! D'ang ganda'e! #AlapanFiesta

The star of my hometown! #paganMagdalene #AlapanFiesta

New Moon's Greetings! #noumenia #calends

New Moon’s Greetings! #noumenia #calends #Skirophorion

Celebrating the Festival of #Wepwawet and the #Naukrateia with couscous, tarbouleh, veggie pops, ginger ale, and fruit

Celebrating the Festival of #Wepwawet and the #Naukrateia with couscous, tarbouleh, veggie pops, ginger ale, and fruit

A sacrifice of sweets for Hermês the Traveller on behalf of a friend and regular "client" of my sacerdotal services

A sacrifice of sweets for Hermês the Traveller on behalf of a friend and regular “client” of my sacerdotal services #randomHermaia

Veggie pops in the making

Veggie pops in the making

Homemade chapatti and fruit in season for #Vestalia and #FathersDay

Homemade chapatti and fruit in season for #Vestalia and #FathersDay

Wine and cheese (and my phantom arm) on #Vestalia and #FathersDay

Wine and cheese (and my phantom arm) on #Vestalia and #FathersDay

What is given is returned. Do ut des.

What is given is returned. Do ut des.

Future fathers and lords of grassdom #FathersDay

Future fathers and lords of grassdom #FathersDay

A multicultural feast for our multicultural Ancestors #AncestorSunday

A multicultural feast for our multicultural Ancestors #AncestorSunday

Fish tofu and dilis (anchovies) for my Amoy Chinese and Pinoy ancestors #AncestorSunday

Fish tofu and dilis (anchovies) for my Amoy Chinese and Pinoy ancestors #AncestorSunday

Pfanner Orangensaft (orange juice) and beer for my Germanic forebears; and yoghurt rice for the Indophile's cultural ancestors #AncestorSunday

Pfanner Orangensaft (orange juice) and beer for my Germanic forebears; and yoghurt rice for the Indophile’s cultural ancestors #AncestorSunday

Aceitunas (olives) for my Mediterranean ancestors and fruit for the landwights/diwata/nymphs #AncestorSunday

Aceitunas (olives) for my Mediterranean ancestors and fruit for the landwights/diwata/nymphs #AncestorSunday

Minatamisang munggo (mung beans in honey and milk) for the Ancestors in general

Minatamisang munggo (mung beans in honey and milk) for the Ancestors in general #AncestorSunday

Tzatziki and Fineti chocolate hazelnut spread on "French bread" (baguette) for my Greek and Lebanese forebears #AncestorSunday

Tzatziki and Fineti chocolate hazelnut spread on “French bread” (baguette) for my Greek and Lebanese forebears #AncestorSunday

At the end of every month, Hekatê is paid her due

At the end of every month, Hekatê is paid her due. #monthend #deipnon #Skirophorion

New Moon offerings and my new chanter. #noumenia #calends

New Moon offerings and my new chanter. #noumenia #calends #Metageitnion

What is given, is returned; a piece of ours, back to them. #noumenia #calends

What is given, is returned; a piece of ours, back to them. #noumenia #calends #Metageitnion

A new hearth in time for the New Moon: May the burning Goddess find you fitting to be her throne. #noumenia #calends

A new hearth in time for the New Moon: May the burning Goddess find you fitting to be her throne. #noumenia #calends #Metageitnion

Merlot, grapes, and a crescent cookie for the new month of grapes. #noumenia #calends

Merlot, grapes, and a crescent cookie for the new month of grapes. #noumenia #calends #Metageitnion

Happy Birthday, Senior Horus! #DaysupontheYear

Happy Birthday, Senior Horus! #DaysupontheYear

I vowed to hold a feast in Your honour, and so I did. Hail, lords of health! #Asklepios #Apollon

I vowed to hold a feast in Your honour, and so I did. Hail, lords of health! #Asklepios #Apollon

I vowed a sacrifice of white wine and chicken, but see, I brought more. Remember me and my house, Son of Apollôn, and preserve our good health. #Asklepios

I vowed a sacrifice of white wine and chicken, but see, I brought more. Remember me and my house, Son of Apollôn, and preserve our good health. #Asklepios

Drink of blood-red beer, Sekhmet, and turn your anger away from us. #WepRonpet

Drink of blood-red beer, Sekhmet, and turn your anger away from us. #WepRonpet

I swear, if I get any lazier, I’ll turn this into a photoblog. Anyway, welcome back, me!

3 thoughts on “Another Silent Hekatombaiôn Done

  1. Pingback: Polytheism fuck yeah! | The House of Vines
  2. The Ancient Egyptians would’ve been mortified by the thought of someone offering blood to Sekhmet as it might provoke her anger instead of appeasing her although I suppose even the gods change.

    Like

    • This is totally UPG on my part, but I just thought maybe offering her red-blood beer (of course, not blood itself) would remind her of that one event when she almost destroyed us all but didn’t. Idk.

      Like

Leave a Reply

