New Year Silence

Silent Hekatombaion

Currently, my profile picture on Facebook and Google+

Okay, so I’ve been thinking, whilst I may not be doing Silent July, perhaps a Silent Hekatombaiôn (Ἑκατομβαιών) would be helpful, right in time for the old Athenian New Year. I think it’s certainly going to be a detoxifying–and perhaps also reforming–period for me. The situation has gotten truly toxic in the online Pagan community, that just reading about it is giving me a migraine. No, thank you, I’d rather be cleaning my room.

However, more than making an ideological stand, I think more importantly this could be, as Sannion puts it“…an opportunity to deepen our practice and relationships with our gods and spirits. Imagine what you could accomplish if every time you got an itch to make a post or check what other people are saying you instead went to your shrine and prayed or made an offering or created something of beauty to honor your divinities?”

Exactly. So, what’s going to happen:

  • No social media such as Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr or Google+ for me. You can e-mail, text, or call me if something needs to be said (and the same for me to you). You can still choose to tag or tweet me or share a link on my page, but I will not be able to see any of it until a month later.
  • No Instagram or Flickr or photo-documentation. Food will be eaten, sights and experiences will be devoured, and rites to the Gods will be piously performed without having to grab a camera.
  • No blogging or commenting on blogs. I won’t even bother reading any of them for now. I’ve got tonnes of books, after all. For epiphanies or flashes of brilliance, my private journal will be there, but no worrying about what other people will think.
  • No video games. There’s always my dog and my bodhrán.
  • I will be cleaning the entire house, for serious.
  • I will be finishing my online French courses and I will be covering all the unanswered exercises in my French workbooks.
  • I will be gathering new samples and transcribing old ones for IDEA.
  • I will be watching films. I’ve got several lined up for watching.
  • I will be eating on time (no more Facebook for breakfast) and I will exercise regularly. No more lazy.

So, there. I wish myself all the luck and strength in this time. I will see you soon.

7 thoughts on “New Year Silence

  1. Pingback: Rebirth in Silence | Under Two Trees
  2. Pingback: What I’ve been up to | Aldrin is the Hermês Boy
  3. Pingback: Another Silent Hekatombaiôn Done | Under Two Trees
  4. Pingback: Oaths to the Virgins | Under Two Trees
  5. Pingback: Ghosts of Panathênaia Past and Present | Under Two Trees

Leave a Reply

