D is for Daimôn

Yes, I know, I should be on C. But, today is my birthday, and I thought it would be appropriate to share a prayer I wrote last year for my Daimôn.

As many of us already know, daimôn in Greek — and especially, in the context of ancient Greek religion — means divine spirit, and the personal deity known as the Eautou (personal or “one’s own”) or Genethlios (birthright) Daimôn is the guardian spirit who watches over the fate of an individual from birth. They are almost identical to the genius or juno of a person in Roman tradition, and quite similar to ‘guardian angels’ in Christianity.

So, today, as every good Graeco-Roman birthday boy would do, I took my morning bath and broke breakfast bread with my Daimôn with these words:

Eautou Daimôn, be thou increased in power
on this day; the day of my birth; the day of my naming.
As I step into another year of my life,
protect me and watch over me;
guide my feet and my way,
my thoughts and my speech,
that everything I do be according to what-is-right;
that my acts be just, be true, be pure;
that in all this, I may secure for myself and my family
the friendship of the Gracious Ones,
the protection of the Mighty Ones;
the guidance of the Wise Ones;
that in all this, I may honour the names
of my beloved father and our noble ancestors
today and tomorrow,
and for all the days of my life.

May it be so.

More love to you, my Daimôn!

As a couple of slices of bread were not enough, a hearty lunch came right after for the family!

Some baguette à l'ancienne and pandesal dipped in olive oil and served with honey for my Daimôn

Some baguette à l’ancienne and pandesal dipped in olive oil and served with honey for my Daimôn

My whore-style salad

My whore-style salad

Plateful of Mum's roast chicken and potato salad, my tzatziki and my salad

Plateful of Mum’s roast chicken and potato salad, my tzatziki and my salad

Cake from my Aunt

Cake from my Aunt

Leave a Reply

